Latest News

'Mad' Mike Jones The Phillip Island Superbike Master

ASBK MikeJones Strip

Kawasaki rider Mike Jones is the 2015 Phillip Island superbike champion, claiming the honours after a cliff-hanger final race at Phillip Island during the Pramac Australian Motorcycle Grand Prix

Heading into the third and final eight-lap race over the GP weekend, Jones was 4pts behind Honda's Troy Herfoss, but a brilliant victory (with Herfoss in third) not only saw him erase the deficit but win the Phillip Island Superbike Championship by 3pts (97 to 94).

"Really close racing is what Aussie superbike racing is all about, and I think we've shown that this weekend. Coming on top of my victory in the 2015 Australian Superbike Championship, to also win the Phillip Island title is a great boost for my confidence going forward.

That last race was unbelievably close, but I was able to pull a pull a small break on the other riders really set me up for the victory."

Said Jones.

Jones went 3-3-1 in the second and final round, finishing on equal points with Yamaha pilot and two-time Australian superbike Glenn Allerton (2-1-5), followed by Jamie Stauffer (Honda, 1-4-4), Wayne Maxwell (Yamaha, 5-2-2) and Herfoss (6-5-3), who started from pole position in all three races.

The opening round of the 2015 Phillip Island Superbike Championship was held way back in February at the world superbike round, with Herfoss sharing the honours with his then Honda teammate Josh Hook, with Jones in third. Allerton and Maxwell didn't compete in the opener.

Meantime, Linden Magee (Honda, 74pts) finished third overall in the 2015 Phillip Island Superbike Championship, from Allerton (61) and Daniel Falzon (Yamaha, 61).

In the supersport title, Michael Blair completed an imperious clean sweep by winning all five races across the two rounds. He completed the series on a maximum 125pts from fellow Yamaha riders Callum Spriggs (94), Ryan Taylor (81), Mitch Levy (71) and Mason Coote (70).

However, the biggest nuisance value for Blair in round two was not from his Yamaha brethren but instead Suzuki rider Kane Burns, particularly in race three when they went at it hammer and tongs. This was the pattern of 'behaviour' for the first five laps before Blair gradually began to assert his authority, and with it an emphatic book-end on a blemish-free campaign.

"That was a spectacular race and to complete the clean sweep against such strong opposition is something I am very proud of"

Said Blair.

Blair (1-1-1) won round two from Spriggs (3-3-3) and Levy (4-2-4), while Burns was a DNF in race two with mechanical problems.